Mr Donatus Mathew of the Labour Party has won the Kaura Federal Constituency seat in the Feb. 25 Presidential and National Assembly Elections in Kaura Local Government Area of Kaduna State.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Elijah Ella, who declared the result in Kaura on Sunday, said Mathew polled 10,508 votes, to defeat his closest opponent, who is also the incumbent, Mr Gideon Gwani of PDP, who garnered 10,297 votes.

According to reports, the defeated PDP lawmaker is taking a shot at the seat for the fifth time.

The Returning Officer said Prof. Benjamin Gugong of the All Progressive Congress came third with 9,919 votes, while Mr Simon Na’Allah of the New Nigeria Peoples Party came fourth with 5,354 votes.

He explained that a total of 36,983 voters were accredited, out of the 101,624 registered voters in the LGA.

He added that of the 36,983 accredited voters, 36,133 cast their votes.

“Mr Donatus Mathew of the Labour Party, having satisfied the requirements of the law by scoring the highest votes, is hereby declared the winner,” he said. 

By Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *