The Supreme Court has adjourned further hearing on the suites filled by some state against the Federal Government on the Feb. 10 deadline for circulation of some old naira notes to Feb. 22.

Justice Inyang Okoro fixed the date and directed all parties to amend their processes to reflect the new position in their respective cases.

Two states, Edo and Bayelsa, however, pitched their tents with the Federal Government.

Counsels to Edo and Bayelsa told the panel of seven-man justices of the apex court that they were in support of the cashless policy regime and sought to be joined as respondents.

Six states of Lagos, Cross River, Ogun, Ekiti, Ondo and Sokoto joined their counterparts in Kaduna, Kogi, and Zamfara against the Federal Government.

Dramatically, River State filed a separate suit against the Federal Government on the same matter.

Rivers, through its counsel, Mr Emmanuel Ukala SAN, stood its ground not to team up with other states, adding that it would prefer to do its case separately.

By Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *