Kogi Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello on Monday appointed Caretaker Chairmen for the state’s 21 Local Government Areas (LGAs).

The appointments of the caretake came at the heels of expiration of the tenure of the elected council chairman mid December 2023.

Bello’s Media Aide, Onogwu Muhammed, in a statement issued in Lokoja on Monday, said that the appointments were in accordance with the Re-enacted Law of the Kogi state, outlining the establishment, composition, structure, finance, and functions of the local government areas, 2023

Muhammad said: “Gov Bello has approved the appointments of distinguished persons to serve as caretaker chairmen for the 21 Local Government Areas of the State.

“The governor’s action is aimed at efficiently filling the void left by the former local government chairmen who have recently completed their commendable tenure of office.

“These caretaker chairmen, carefully selected for their competence and dedication, are poised to steer the ship of their respective local government areas with unwavering commitment and resolve.”

The list of appointed caretaker chairmen reads bellow:

Adavi – Hon. Rasheed Bashiru Okatengwu.

Ajaokuta – Hon. Haruna Aliyu +Ogidi.

Ankpa – Adamu Yahaya+Mohammed

Bassa – Theophilus Adamu

Dejuna – John Urah

Ibahi- Emmanuel Uge

Idah – Hin Amade Egwuda-Ochijenu

Igalamela-Odolu – Hin. Cosmas Attabor-Ilemona

Ijumu- Ibrahim Haruna

Kabba-Bunu – Barr Zaccueus Dare-Michael

Kogi – Hon Musa Abdulmalik

Lokoja – Hin Abdullahi Adamu

Mopa-Muro – Hon Ademila Bello

Ofu – Hon Hassan Atawodi

Ogori Magongo – Hon Rosemary Ohyezu

Okehi – Hon Monday Amoke-Ody

Okene – Hon Enesi Ahmed-Nuhu

Olamaboro – Hon Williams Ameh

Omala – Eduke Ameh-Mark

Yagba East – Dare Joshua -Venza

Yagba-West – Hon Tosun Olokun

According to him, their appointments are recognition of the pivotal role of local government administration, particularly in the crucial area of security.

Muhammad said that the governor has extended his congratulatory message to the newly appointed local government chairmen.

He, however, disclosed that the inauguration of the caretaker chairmen comes up on Jan. 9 at 9. 00 a.m at the Glass House of the Government House, Lokoja, Kogi

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *